Grassroots efforts have historical been a determinant of the success of secessionist movements. In upstate New York, there are countless social media groups, protests organizers, and websites all looking to forward the goal of a more autonomous upstate region of New York. Their methodology of achieving those goals, as well as their following, sets them apart. However, is no organizing structure between these various activist organizations, which can be detrimental to their effectiveness since outreach efforts, and concentrated political action like phone banking, is fragmented.

However, out of all the groups calling for upstate New York secession, “New Amsterdam NY” stands out as the largest and most organized, based on the organization of their website and their social media following. They have created two different plans for greater upstate New York autonomy found here. New Amsterdam NY further stands out because of their level of detail, engaging New York circuit courts, grassroots efforts, as well as legislation in order create an autonomous region in New York they name “New Amsterdam.”

According to the website of New Amsterdam NY, “New Amsterdam” will consist of the Albany, Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Dutchess, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orange, Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, Putnam, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, St Lawrence, Steuben, Sullivan, Tioga, Tompkins, Ulster, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wyoming, and Yates counties.

“New York” will consist of the Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens Richmond, Nassau, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester counties.